Skip to Main Content

New Faculty & Jenks Library Services

Quick Start to Library Resources

Three books stackedBooks

Use the NOBLE Catalog to search for print books, e-books, and other resources at Jenks Library or other NOBLE libraries.

Search Instructions

  1. Go to the library homepage: www.gordon.edu/library
  2. In the Search the Library section, enter your search. You can also click on the "More Catalog Search Options" for more options.
  3. Click Go, review the results, and click on the book title (the green links) to view the detailed record.
  4. On the record, you will find more description information about the book including a summary, where to find the book at Jenks Library, and links to subject headings.
  5. To find materials in our Stacks you need the Location (stack level) and the call number. Jenks Library has five floors of stacks, organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. 

NOBLE Network

Jenks Library is part of NOBLE, the North of Boston Library Exchange. This means that we have access to all resources (except electronic) at our neighboring local libraries such as Beverly, Danvers, and more. You can search the NOBLE Catalog for all NOBLE materials by using the Location dropdown. Request books to be sent directly to Jenks Library by using the "place hold" button.

Here's a quick video showing you how to place items on hold:

Databases

The Library has over 100 databases to search for scholarly articles, book reviews, magazine articles, and more. We offer subject databases for specific disciplines and have a variety of multidisciplinary databases that will serve all majors. View our Database A-Z list and filter by subject area to learn what databases we have access to.

Journals

 

Journal Searching

We get this question a lot from faculty: "Do you have X journal?" There is an easy way everyone (students, faculty, etc.) can search on their own to see if Jenks Library has access to their journal of interest. Use Journal Finder! This search will display all access options (including print) available at Jenks Library. When possible, Jenks Library tries to subscribe to full-text databases. This means that as students and faculty search in databases, all will have immediate access to articles available full-text in the database either as a PDF, HTML web link, or other. Because of this, we have access to thousands of academic journals.

Here is a quick video showing you how to find a journal article within a specific journal: 

Journal Browsing

In the mood to browse for journals? Use BrowZine. BrowZine is both a web app and a mobile app. It allows you to browse for journals by subject area. This is the best way to quickly get familiar with all the journals available at Jenks related to your discipline or subject area of interest. Please note, BrowZine shows all journals provided full-text in database - including embargoed titles. Embargoes are a publisher delay on the release of the latest issues of journals. Usually there is a full-text delay between 1 year and 18 months. 

Subject Guides

Because of the wealth of resources available, we also create subject guides that provide a curated list of books, databases, and journal available at Jenks for your subject. Below are some examples:

Gordon College is one of the nation's premier Christian colleges and located just north of Boston. We offer students extraordinary access to leading-edge opportunities for intellectual, professional, and leadership development to address the increasingly complex challenges of a global society. Gordon stands apart from other outstanding institutions in New England by combining an exceptional education with an informed Christian faith.  

Gordon College | 255 Grapevine Road, Wenham, MA 01984 | Telephone 978.927.2300