A Writer's Reference by 
The Chicago Manual of Style by Paintings, Photographs & Sculpture
Information about paintings, photographs, sculptures, or other works of art can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, list the artist, a title (in italics), and a date of creation or completion, followed by information about the medium and the location of the work. For works consulted online, add a URL.
1. Salvador Dalí, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ × 13″ (24.1 × 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.
2. Dorothea Lange, Black Maria, Oakland, 1957, printed 1965, gelatin silver print, 39.3 × 37 cm, Art Institute, Chicago, http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/220174.
Maps
Information about maps can usually be presented in the text rather than in a note or bibliography. If a note or bibliography entry is needed, list the cartographer (if known) and the title of the map (in italics) or a description (in roman), followed by the scale and size (if known) and publication details or location of the map (see also 8.199, 14.235). Undated maps consulted online should include an access or revision date (see also 14.12, 14.13).
1. Samuel de Champlain, cartographer, Carte geographique de la Nouvelle Franse, 1612, 43 × 76 cm, in The History of Cartography, vol. 3, Cartography in the European Renaissance (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007), fig. 51.3.
2. Yu ji tu [Map of the tracks of Yu], AD 1136, Forest of Stone Steles Museum, Xi’an, China, stone rubbing, 1933?, 84 × 82 cm, Library of Congress, http://www.loc.gov/item/gm71005080/.
3. Satellite view of Chicago, Google Earth, accessed April 2, 2016, https://www.google.com/maps/@41.7682665,-87.723154,93759m/data=!3m1!1e3.
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) citation style is most commonly used in humanities disciplines such as history and the arts.
The examples below are for the Notes and Bibliography (NB) style.
| In-Text Note | Bibliography | |
|---|---|---|
| Journal Article | Yodovich, “Defining Conditional Belonging.” |
Yodovich, Neta. “Defining Conditional Belonging: The Case of Female Science Fiction Fans.” Sociology 55, no. 5 (October 2021): 871–87. https://doi.org/10.1177/0038038520949848. |
| Journal Article with Multiple Authors | Fulkerson, Neumark-Sztainer, and Story, “Adolescent and Parent Views of Family Meals.” |
Fulkerson, Jayne A., Dianne Neumark-Sztainer, and Mary Story. “Adolescent and Parent Views of Family Meals.” Journal of the American Dietetic Association 106, no. 4 (April 1, 2006): 526–32. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jada.2006.01.006. |
| Book | Golding, Star Wars after Lucas. |
Golding, Dan. Star Wars after Lucas: A Critical Guide to the Future of the Galaxy. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2019. |
| AI | Text generated by ChatGPT, OpenAI, March 7, 2023, https://chat.openai.com/chat. | N/A |
Always check with your professor and syllabus for specific information on how you should use and cite AI-generated sources.
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The Zotero tool is available for Mac, Windows, and Linux users. You can choose to download "Zotero for Firefox" which will link with your Firefox browser or download the "Zotero Standalone" option which will allow you to use the web browser of your choice. If you are using the Standalone client, first download Zotero and then add the appropriate browser extension for your prefered web browser.
Plug-ins for Word or LibreOffice are download separetly.
All downloading options are available from the Zotero.org website. Select your preferred client and browser extensions and start using Zotero today!
Gordon College is one of the nation's premier Christian colleges and located just north of Boston. We offer students extraordinary access to leading-edge opportunities for intellectual, professional, and leadership development to address the increasingly complex challenges of a global society. Gordon stands apart from other outstanding institutions in New England by combining an exceptional education with an informed Christian faith.
Gordon College | 255 Grapevine Road, Wenham, MA 01984 | Telephone 978.927.2300