Guides: Sociology & Social Work: Databases

Electronic Resources

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Find federal legislative information such as bills and resolutions, activity in Congress, committee information, and more.
OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals covering law and law enforcement. Includes information from more than 250 journals.
Formerly called Criminal Justice Collection
OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals covering cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. Includes over 2.7 million articles from 150 journals.
Formerly called Diversity Studies Collection
OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and more.
Formerly called Gender Studies Collection
OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
More than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes nursing and allied health journals, as well as personal health information sources.
Formerly called Health Reference Center Academic
Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health articles and information
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. Includes more than 320 full-text journals and a comprehensive medical dictionary.

HeinOnline
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage. JSTOR also has an extensive collection of primary sources.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Oxford Reference Online: Sociology
Find definitions, biographies, and more from Oxford reference titles.
Please log out when you are finished searching. Our subscription allows one user at a time.
Oxford Reference Online: Social Welfare & Social Services
Find definitions, biographies, and more from Oxford reference titles.

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of scholarly online journals published by Sage, covering humanities, natural science, education, fine arts, music, and social science

More electronic resources are available through the Boston Public Library. However, you must first take a minute to sign up for a BPL eCard.

Boston Public Library Sociology Resources

Sociology & Social Work: Databases

Library Database A-Z List

Electronic Resources