Guides: Psychology: Databases & Journals

You can use the A-Z Library Databases list from any computer on or off campus. See a complete listing of electronic resources by name, subject, type, or provider. Databases covering psychology are listed below.

PSYCHOLOGY SPECIFIC DATABASES

APA PsycARTICLES
Includes more than 200,000 full-text articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
APA PsycINFO
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
OneFile: Psychology
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Formerly called Psychology Collection

Oxford Reference Online: Psychology
Find definitions, illustrations, and more from Oxford reference titles.

OTHER DATABASES COVERING PSYCHOLOGY

Academic OneFile
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Business Source Premier
Scholarly business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
ERIC
Articles, research reports, and digests from education-related journals and the U.S. Department of Education.
OneFile: Health and Medicine
More than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes nursing and allied health journals, as well as personal health information sources.
Formerly called Health Reference Center Academic
Health Source - Nursing/Academic
Scholarly journals covering nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. Includes more than 320 full-text journals and a comprehensive medical dictionary.
JSTOR
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage. JSTOR also has an extensive collection of primary sources.
Medline
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Sage Journals Online
A searchable collection of scholarly online journals published by Sage, covering humanities, natural science, education, fine arts, music, and social science

More electronic resources are available through the Boston Public Library. However, you must first take a minute to sign up for a BPL eCard.

Boston Public Library Psychology Resources

The authors of the article conducted their own original research.	The authors synthesize and analyze known research on a particular topic to discover trends.
Has a specific structure: introduction, methods, results, discussion, conclusion, references	Its structure can be changed depending on the topic studied.
Uses first and second person like "We discovered" or "I found" Refers primarily to "this study" (singular)	Uses third person like "they discovered" or "Choi and Wilson concluded" Refers to multiple studies
Its goal is to add a new contribution to scientific research.	Its goal is to summarize current research, draw connections, and show gaps needing further research.