Guides: EDU 575: Classroom Management: Databases

Access to Online Resources at Jenks

Go to the Jenks Library website at gordon.edu/library

Screenshot of library homepage with an arrow pointing to database tab

Find the online resource you need from the Library Databases page.

If prompted by the Gordon log in screen, log in to your Gordon email.

Start with these Education specific & multidisciplinary databases.

Education Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Articles, research reports, and digests from education-related journals and the U.S. Department of Education.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Specialized information designed for educators, professional librarians and education researchers. Includes more than 450 full-text journals, of which nearly 300 are peer-reviewed.

Psychology Databases

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 200,000 full-text articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
Formerly called Psychology Collection

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage and does not include the current 3-5 years, unless Gordon has a current subscription to the journal. JSTOR provides long term preservation for journals.

Find Online Resources

Find Scholarly Articles

A-Z Library Databases
View the A-Z list of over 100 library databases.

How do I access library databases?

All links to library databases and online resources, such as eBooks, can be accessed from the "View all Databases" link on the Databases tab on the library homepage. Remember, the only difference for access off-campus is you will be prompted to login to Canvas first before being automatically directed to the online resources.

How do you find scholarly articles in a database?

Watch this video for instructions on how to find and search library databases. The database featured in this video is ERIC, a great source for finding scholarly articles for the education subject areas. Please note that this video was recorded for Education students in Gordon's Graduation Education Leadership program, but the same concepts will apply to your research!

Having trouble playing the video? Watch it on the Jenks Library YouTube Channel.

How do you refine your search in a database?

When you first start researching, often searching is in one of two categories: Too Board: your search results returns too much information and not relevant information. Too Narrow: your search returns too little or zero results. What do you do? Watch this video to learn some strategies about how you can refine your search to get more relevant results.

Having trouble playing the video? Watch it on the Jenks Library YouTube Channel.

Peer-Reviewed Limiter

When searching in Library Databases for scholarly articles, do not forget to check the Peer-Reviewed Journals checkbox in the "Limit Your Results" section of the search page. Sometimes this box is also called Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.