Guides: Economics: Databases & Journals

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

Also known as scholarly articles, peer-reviewed articles are sources that are:

written by experts in the field
reviewed by other experts in the field (hence the peer-reviewed)
intended for an academic audience

Databases contain a feature where you can narrow your results to only peer-reviewed articles.

Find Subject-Specific Articles:

Business Source Premier
Scholarly business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (previously called LexisNexis Academic) provides access to more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources. To access content on Nexis Uni, they must register themselves by clicking on the “Sign In/Register” link in the top right corner.
NBER Working Papers
The NBER working paper series includes over 1000 papers each year, authored by leading research economists, on a wide variety of topics. These papers are circulated prior to publication for comment and discussion. Includes more than 24,000 papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Academic OneFile

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

ECONOMICS & BUSINESS SPECIFIC DATABASES

Business Source Premier
Scholarly business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Business Source Premier Enhanced Interface
Tailored to business and economics students with research assignments, users can easily browse and search databases for country economic data, company profiles, industry information, market research, etc.
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
International and domestic finance data going back to 1948. All first-time users of the database must create an account. In the box titled “My Data,” click on the “Sign in or Register” link to create an account. After signing in, to access the IFS database look for the “Query within a Dataset” box on the left side of the IMF eLibrary page, and select the“International Financial Statitics (IFS)” link.
NBER Working Papers
The NBER working paper series includes over 1000 papers each year, authored by leading research economists, on a wide variety of topics. These papers are circulated prior to publication for comment and discussion. Includes more than 24,000 papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
OneFile: Business
Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Provides access to 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Formerly called both General Business File ASAP and Business Collection
OneFile: Economics and Theory
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory offers access to full-text academic journals and magazines, supporting research on topics including starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Formerly called Business Economics and Theory Collection
OneFile: Insurance and Liability
Search a subset of Gale Academic journals focusing on the liability and insurance industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, and legal issues.

Formerly called Insurance & Liability Collection
Regional Business News
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Statista
Statistics portal integrating statistics and other quantitative data on over 80,000 topics including media, business, finance, politics, and more.
World Bank Open Data
Find data about development in countries around the globe, including World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, African Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor.

OTHER DATABASES COVERING ECONOMICS & BUSINESS

Academic OneFile

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
JSTOR
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage. JSTOR also has an extensive collection of primary sources.
Newspaper Source
Provides content from hundreds of U.S., international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks including CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
APA PsycINFO
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
Sage Journals Online
A searchable collection of scholarly online journals published by Sage, covering humanities, natural science, education, fine arts, music, and social science

More electronic resources are available through the Boston Public Library. However, you must first take a minute to sign up for a BPL eCard.

Boston Public Library Business Resources

A-Z Library Databases
View the A-Z list of over 100 library databases.

Below are recommendations for the best databases to use for searching for peer-reviewed research in the fields of economics and business. For more database suggestions, check out our Library Database A-Z list.