Biblical Studies

Archaeological Collection

Israel – Tel Dothan Archaeological Collection

• The Israel – Tel Dothan Archaeological Collection includes artifacts from the Early Bronze through Iron Age II (3,000 – 600 BC) from the site of ancient Tel Dothan which is located 60 miles north of Jerusalem. The dig was conducted in 1954-1955 by Wheaton College and the American Schools of Oriental Research. The Collection is a gift of former Providence Bible Institute (later Barrington College) alumnus, George Kelsey (1950), who was the first assistant to Joseph P. Free, the Director of the expedition.

Egyptian Archaeological Collection

• The Egyptian Archaeological Collection was donated by Elizabeth Eliot Gren and contains artifacts from a dig performed by William Cowper Prime in 1855. It also includes a 19th century Arabic outfit.

Pictured: Egyptian sarcophagi pieces (not much known about them).

Marvin R. Wilson Jewish-Christian Relations Collection

The Marvin R. Wilson Jewish-Christian Relations Collection is a compilation of reports, papers, articles, books, memos, correspondence, and other materials pertaining to Marvin R. Wilson, Biblical Studies professor (at Gordon and Barrington Colleges), author, speaker and scholar. Especially highlighted is his ongoing engagement with the local and national Jewish community, as well as that of his students and Gordon/Barrington Colleges' administrations. The materials range from 1967 to 2018. The finding aid is now available.

Image: Marv Wilson stands in front of his donated collection in the Gordon College Archives before the collection was processed.