Guides: MAT 111: Introduction to Applied Calculus: Find Sources

students reading in front of periodical display

Also known as peer-reviewed articles, scholarly articles are sources that are:

written by experts in the field
reviewed by other experts in the field (hence the peer-reviewed)
intended for an academic audience

While you can find scholarly articles through general search engines, databases contain a feature where you can narrow your results to only scholarly articles.

Find Subject-Specific Articles:

Biology:

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search and browse bioscience research journals published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. BioOne Complete is an initiative to provide access to journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
For search by Publication Type, see PubMed's subject term guide: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/pubtypes.html
OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals and Delmar reference titles covering environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Formerly called Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Business:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Supports quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. This includes both CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, along with journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related fields of study. Contains indexing and abstracting for more than 570 journals and full text access to over 450 journals.

Sociology & Social Work

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive sociology research database that contains full text for more than 630 journals and magazines, as well as books, monographs, and conference papers. Covers various areas of study including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics portal integrating statistics and other quantitative data on over 80,000 topics including media, business, finance, politics, and more.

CIA World Factbook
he World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Coronavirus Resource Center
Johns Hopkins has provided daily-updated data on cases and trends of COVID-19 worldwide.
Data.gov
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
GapMinder
Gapminder is a non-profit venture – a modern “museum” on the Internet – promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Their mission: Fighting devastating ignorance with fact-based worldviews everyone can understand.
Healthdata.gov
Provides high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
NOAA: National Center for Environmental Information
Combines data information from NOAA's three data centers: the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center.
Open Data Network
Provides access to government data and public information with the goal of information users helping the world around them.
Pew Research Center
Tracks key national, political, economic and demographic trends over time.
United States Census Bureau
Leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Provides access to data through products and tools including data visualizations, mobile apps, interactive web apps, and other software.
USA.gov
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
USDA National Agriculture Statistical Service
USDA National Agriculture Statistical Service provides access to data on agriculture.
WHO: Global Health Observatory Data
Gateway to health related statistics for more than 1,000 indicators for its 194 member states.
The World Bank
World Bank Open Data provides free and open access to global development data.

Quick Way to Cite

Screenshot of Cite box on EBSCO database showing a formatted MLA citation that you can copy and paste

If you found an article on a database, look for the Cite button to get a formatted citation for your Works Cited, in less time than it takes for EasyBib to load.

MLA Works Cited & In-Text Citations

Works Cited Format	Author. "Title." Title of container (self contained if book), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs and/or URL, DOI or permalink).
1 Author	Brennan, Mylie. “Dungeons & Dragons and Damsels in Distress: A Visual Rhetorical Critique of The Dungeon Master’s Guide.” Women & Language, vol. 43, no. 2, Fall 2020, pp. 223–51. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.34036/WL.2020.021.
2 Authors	Wang, Yichen, and Xiaofei Hao. “Virtual Nexus: Female Players’ Emotional Attachment in a Role-Playing Video Game.” Convergence: The Journal of Research into New Media Technologies, vol. 28, no. 2, Apr. 2022, pp. 488–505. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1177/13548565221089212.
3+ Authors	Domahidi, Emese, et al. “A Longitudinal Analysis of Gaming- and Non-Gaming-Related Friendships and Social Support among Social Online Game Players.” Media Psychology, vol. 21, no. 2, Apr. 2018, pp. 288–307. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1080/15213269.2016.1257393.

In-text Citation Format	Format	Example
1 Author	(Author's Family Name Location).	(Brennan 225).
2 Authors	(Family Name and Family Name Location).	(Wang and Hao 500).
3+ Authors	(Family Name et al. Location).	(Domahidi et al. 290).

APA Works Cited & In-Text Citations

Works Cited Format	Author. "Title." Title of container (self contained if book), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs and/or URL, DOI or permalink).
1 Author	Brennan, M. (2020). Dungeons & Dragons and Damsels in Distress: A Visual Rhetorical Critique of The Dungeon Master’s Guide. Women & Language, 43(2), 223–251. https://doi.org/10.34036/WL.2020.021
2 Authors	Wang, Y., & Hao, X. (2022). Virtual nexus: Female players’ emotional attachment in a role-playing video game. Convergence: The Journal of Research into New Media Technologies, 28(2), 488–505. https://doi.org/10.1177/13548565221089212
3+ Authors	Domahidi, E., Breuer, J., Kowert, R., Festl, R., & Quandt, T. (2018). A Longitudinal Analysis of Gaming- and Non-Gaming-Related Friendships and Social Support among Social Online Game Players. Media Psychology, 21(2), 288–307. https://doi.org/10.1080/15213269.2016.1257393

In-text Citation Format	Format	Example
1 Author	(Author's Family Name Date).	(Brennan 2020).
2 Authors	(Family Name and Family Name Date).	(Wang and Hao 2022).
3+ Authors	(Family Name et al. Date).	(Domahidi et al. 2018).

Download Zotero
Step 1: Download the app from Zotero.org.
Step 2: Add the Zotero Connector to your preferred web browser.
Step 3: Register for a Zotero account.
Step 4: Adjust preferences settings in the app.

If you find an article or book that you can't access, don't pay for it! Instead, submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and you'll receive articles within a few days!

Interlibrary Loan: Article & Book Request
Can't find the article or book you're looking for at Gordon? Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form and we'll track the article or book down for you!

Are you looking for a specific article, like an article that you found referenced in a bibliography? Search for the journal in Journal Finder, linked below:

Browse Journal Finder
Find individual journals and search within specific publications.