Use concordances to find:
1. All locations of a word in the Bible.
2. The original Greek or Hebrew translation of a word.
Want to find more about the original translation? Use a Lexicon.
Use a lexicon to look up detailed translations of a word from Hebrew, Greek, or Aramaic.
Need more information about the verse that you found? Use a commentary.
Use commentaries to read different interpretations on specific verses & passages.
Do you want more detailed commentary? Use the ATLA database.
Use the "Scripture" tab to find scholarly articles on specific passages.
Does the commentary mention a specific location you want to explore? Use an atlas.
Use atlases to see maps and learn more about the geography of the biblical world.
Do you want more detailed information about the people, places, culture, etc. mentioned in the commentary? Use dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Use general dictionaries & encyclopedias for more information, or subject-specific ones on medicine, archaeology, etc. to get detailed information.
Unlike most books, the Bible, the books of the Bible, and versions of the Bible are not italicized or underlined. However, individual published versions of the Bible are italicized. For example:
| Format | Example | |
|---|---|---|
| Note |
1. Book of the Bible 3:16 (Version). |
1. 2 Kgs. 2:23 (The ESV Classic Reference Edition). 1. 2 Kgs. 2:23 (New International Version). |
| Subsequent Notes | 1. Book of the Bible 3:16 (Version, abbreviated). |
1. 2 Kgs. 2:23 (ESV). 1. 2 Kgs. 2:23 (NIV). |
| Bibliography | Not needed |
|
Use concordances to find:
1. All locations of a word in the Bible.
2. The original Greek or Hebrew translation of a word.
Concordances are located in the Reference Room from BS 425.E4 - BS 425.Y7
While there isn't a direct online equivalent of concordances, Blue Letter Bible allows both searching by word and looking up the original Hebrew, Aramaic, or Greek.
Use the abbreviation s.v. before listing the title of the article in your notes.
| Format | Example | |
|---|---|---|
| Shortened Note |
1. Title of Concordance, s.v. "Article Title." |
1. Zondervan NASB Exhaustive Concordance, s.v. "Tselem." |
| Bibliography | Authors Name. "Article Title." In Title of Concordance, edited by Editor, vol. #, pages, Publisher City: Publisher, Date. | "Tselem." In Zondervan NASB Exhaustive Concordance, edited by Daniel L. Fox, 1460, Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000. |
Want to find more about the original translation? Use a Lexicon.
Commentaries are located in the References Room from BS 491 - BS 2361
Off-campus? Use one of our e-book commentaries:
Use the abbreviation s.v. before listing the title of the article in your notes.
| Format | Example | |
|---|---|---|
| First Note | 1. Author, Title, Series Title (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), Page number. | 1. Peter Enns. Exodus, The NIV Application Commentary Series (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000), 418. |
| Shortened Note |
2. Author's Last Name, Shortened Title, Page number. |
2. Enns. Exodus, 420-22. |
| Bibliography | Author. Title. Series Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. | Enns, Peter. Exodus. The NIV Application Commentary Series. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2000. |
Do you want more detailed commentary? Use the ATLA database, and search by scripture reference for articles focused on your passage:
Off-campus? Use one of our e-book dictionaries, encyclopedias & lexicons:
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Use the abbreviation s.v. before listing the title of the article in your notes.
| Format | Example | |
|---|---|---|
| Shortened Note |
1. Title of Dictionary, s.v. "Article Title." |
1. Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible, s.v. "Mary Mother of Jesus." 2. Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, s.v. "Shepherd." |
| Bibliography | Authors Name. "Article Title." In Title of Dictionary, edited by Editor, vol. #, pages, Publisher City: Publisher, Date. |
"Shepherd." In Zondervan Dictionary of Biblical Imagery, edited by Jack Beck, 235-237, Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011. Stewart, Don G. "Mary, Mother of Jesus." In The Zondervan Enecylopedia of the Bible, edited by Moisés Silva, 116-122, Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2009. |
Need more information about the verse that you found? Use a commentary.
Also known as peer-reviewed articles, scholarly articles are sources that are:
While you can find scholarly articles through general search engines, databases contain a feature where you can narrow your results to only scholarly articles.
If you find an article or book that you can't access, don't pay for it! Instead, submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and you'll receive articles within a few days!
Are you looking for a specific article, like an article that you found referenced in a bibliography? Search for the journal in Journal Finder, linked below:
Gordon College is one of the nation's premier Christian colleges and located just north of Boston. We offer students extraordinary access to leading-edge opportunities for intellectual, professional, and leadership development to address the increasingly complex challenges of a global society. Gordon stands apart from other outstanding institutions in New England by combining an exceptional education with an informed Christian faith.
Gordon College | 255 Grapevine Road, Wenham, MA 01984 | Telephone 978.927.2300
