Guides: KIN 112: Introduction to Human Movement: Find Sources

Forming your Search String

The more complicated your question, the less likely a search engine can understand it. To get the best result, identify keywords and like terms to create a search string.

Example research question: How does ongoing yoga practice impact balance for people with Parkinson's disease?

Keywords: yoga, balance, Parkinson's disease

Like terms can include synonyms and also examples of your keywords. If you don't get results from searching your keywords, it doesn't mean that the research doesn't exist. It could mean that the researcher used different language to describe the same topic

Yoga: yoga practice, yin yoga
Balance: functional movement, stability, equilibrium
Parkinson's disease: Parkinson's

Search strings connect your keywords and like terms together for the best results.

Too many results? Use AND to narrow results

yoga AND balance AND Parkinson's disease

Too few results? Use OR to broaden results

yoga AND balance OR equilibrium OR stability AND Parkinson's disease OR Parkinson's

students reading in front of periodical display

Also known as peer-reviewed articles, scholarly articles are sources that are:

written by experts in the field
reviewed by other experts in the field (hence the peer-reviewed)
intended for an academic audience

While you can find scholarly articles through general search engines, databases contain a feature where you can narrow your results to only scholarly articles.

Find Subject-Specific Articles:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
For search by Publication Type, see PubMed's subject term guide: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/pubtypes.html
Medline This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Database is a growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research reports, and more.
Formerly called Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

Student thumbing through a book in front of library stacks

Books and eBooks often provide a broader overview and cover more information than a scholarly journal article.

You don't need to read an entire book to use it in your research. Use the index at the back of a book to find the information you need.

To find books and eBooks, you can either:

Search the NOBLE catalog

NOBLE Catalog Search
Search the Jenks Library catalog for books, eBooks, audiobooks, scores, etc.

Browse the stacks for a book related to your topic

GV 557-1198.995 Sports

R855-855.5 Medical technology

R856-857 Biomedical engineering. Electronics. Instrumentation

R858-859.7 Computer applications to medicine. Medical informatics

RC1200-1245 Sports medicine

RD792-811 Physical rehabilitation

RM695-893 Physical medicine.

RM930-931 Rehabilitation therapy

RM950 Rehabilitation technology

Differences between APA & MLA Citations
	APA	MLA
In-text citations	(Tisby, 2019) or (Tisby, 2019, pg. 57)	(Tisby 57)
Reference page title	References	Works Cited
Subjects used for	Sciences	Languages & Literature
Author names in references	Tisby, J.	Tisby, Jemar
Capitalization of titles	The color of compromise: The truth about the American Church’s complicity in racism (sentence case)	The Color of Compromise: The Truth about the American Church’s Complicity in Racism (title case)
Reference format	Acu, A. (2016). Time to work for a living: The Marvel Cinematic Universe and the organized superhero. Journal of Popular Film & Television, 44(4), 195–205. https://doi.org/10.1080/01956051.2016.1174666	Acu, Adrian. “Time to Work for a Living: The Marvel Cinematic Universe and the Organized Superhero.” Journal of Popular Film & Television, vol. 44, no. 4, Oct. 2016, pp. 195–205. EBSCOhost, doi.org/10.1080/01956051.2016.1174666

Download Zotero
Step 1: Download the app from Zotero.org.
Step 2: Add the Zotero Connector to your preferred web browser.
Step 3: Register for a Zotero account.
Step 4: Adjust preferences settings in the app.

If you find an article or book that you can't access, don't pay for it! Instead, submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and you'll receive articles within a few days!

Interlibrary Loan: Article & Book Request
Can't find the article or book you're looking for at Gordon? Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form and we'll track the article or book down for you!

Are you looking for a specific article, like an article that you found referenced in a bibliography? Search for the journal in Journal Finder, linked below:

Browse Journal Finder
Find individual journals and search within specific publications.