Guides: Biology: Databases

Electronic Resources

BIOLOGY SPECIFIC DATABASES

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search and browse bioscience research journals published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. BioOne Complete is an initiative to provide access to journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Browse or search authoritative medical information from reference titles, full-text medical journals, magazines, pamphlets, and videos. Provides information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals covering nursing and allied health topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. Includes more than 320 full-text journals and a comprehensive medical dictionary.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals and Delmar reference titles focused on agriculture and related fields.
Formerly called Agriculture Collection
OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals and Delmar reference titles covering environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Formerly called Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
More than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Includes nursing and allied health journals, as well as personal health information sources.
Formerly called Health Reference Center Academic
OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals covering nursing and allied health, including specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Includes highlighting and note-taking tools and provides multiple pathways to key information.
Formerly called Nursing and Allied Health Collection
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

OTHER DATABASES COVERING BIOLOGY

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. Includes extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage and does not include the current 3-5 years, unless Gordon has a current subscription to the journal. JSTOR provides long term preservation for journals.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Provides over 2 million digitized entries from Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Find facts, figures, definitions, quotations, translations, and illustrations covering 25 subject areas such as history, linguistics, medicine and health, music, and religion.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
World's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it includes more than 4 million bibliographic records and indexing of more than 2,500 journals.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of scholarly online journals published by Sage, covering humanities, natural science, education, fine arts, music, and social science
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Discovery tool for chemical literature, patents, and substances.

Access to SciFinder is granted upon request. Email library@gordon.edu to obtain access to SciFinder.

More electronic resources are available through the Boston Public Library. However, you must first take a minute to sign up for a BPL eCard.

Boston Public Library Science Resources

Biology: Databases

Library Database A-Z List

Electronic Resources