Guides: BIO 260: Introduction to Research in Biology: Databases

Library Databases

Visit the "Electronic Resources" tab on the Biology subject research guide to view a complete list of all available databases that specifically cover material in this area. Search the library databases to find peer-reviewed journal articles on a particular topic.

Tips for searching in Library Databases:

Start the initial search process with 2-3 keywords. Review the results and pull out a handful articles that are most relevant to your topic. Scan those articles for additional keywords or terminology that you might use to expand your search.
Sort your search results by Date Newest so the most current information on a subject is at the top of your results.
Use the "Cited by" or "Cited References" features contained in many library databases to view a list of resources that have cited the particular article currently being viewed in their own work or are contained within the Reference list of the current article being viewed.
Do not limit your search to just one database. Instead look at a variety of databases both subject specific and interdisciplinary to make sure you are viewing the full scope of literature published on your topic.

Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage and does not include the current 3-5 years, unless Gordon has a current subscription to the journal. JSTOR provides long term preservation for journals.

PubMed

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

Other Databases

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search and browse bioscience research journals published by small societies and other not-for-profit organizations. BioOne Complete is an initiative to provide access to journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
OneFile: Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals and Delmar reference titles focused on agriculture and related fields.
Formerly called Agriculture Collection
OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Search a subset of Gale Academic OneFile journals and Delmar reference titles covering environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Formerly called Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Medline This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.