Guides: THT 234: Introduction to Theatre: Find Sources

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

Also known as scholarly articles, peer-reviewed articles are sources that are:

written by experts in the field
reviewed by other experts in the field (hence the peer-reviewed)
intended for an academic audience

Databases contain a feature where you can narrow your results to only peer-reviewed articles.

Find Subject-Specific Articles:

JSTOR
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage. JSTOR also has an extensive collection of primary sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Supports quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. This includes both CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, along with journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related fields of study. Contains indexing and abstracting for more than 570 journals and full text access to over 450 journals.

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Academic OneFile
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Forming your Search String

The more complicated your question, the less likely a search engine can understand it. To get the best result, identify keywords and like terms to create a search string.

Example research question: How does video gaming impact interpersonal relationships in teenagers?

Search strings connect your keywords and like terms together for the best results.

Too many results? Use AND and more keywords to narrow results

video gaming AND interpersonal relationships AND teenagers

Too few results? Use OR and like terms to broaden results

video gaming OR Xbox AND interpersonal relationships OR friendship AND teenagers OR adolescent

Can't Find Your Article?

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar with the title of the article that you are trying to access. The results list will display a link to the right to the open access full text. If you're searching on campus (or you've set up Library Links), Google Scholar will also show a "Access at Jenks Library" link if we have access to the full text.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Request the Article through Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article or book that you can't access, don't pay for it! Instead, submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and you'll receive articles within a few days!

Book Interlibrary Loan Request
Can't find the article or book you're looking for at Gordon? Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form and we'll track the article or book down for you!