Guides: HIS 494: Art & Spirituality: Secondary Sources

Find Secondary Sources:

JSTOR
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage. JSTOR also has an extensive collection of primary sources.

Find Articles in Multidisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is our largest multidisciplinary database of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Academic OneFile
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Questions for Analyzing Visual Primary Sources

The Technology & Materials

What is the object made of? How was it created or manufactured? Were there recent technological advances which made its creation possible?
How was the object used? Was it an everyday item or a specialty item available only to select members of society?
Has the object been repaired? Is it plain or has it been decorated? What does this imply about the owner?

The Historical Context

What is the purpose of the object?
What does the object convey about this period of history? What events may have influenced the production of the work?
What does the object convey about the society which produced it? How are women portrayed? How do people dress?

The Techniques & Symbols

What techniques are used? Are they unusual for the culture and time period?
What symbols are used? How were they viewed in this culture?

Can't Find Your Article?

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar with the title of the article that you are trying to access. The results list will display a link to the right to the open access full text. If you're searching on campus (or you've set up Library Links), Google Scholar will also show a "Access at Jenks Library" link if we have access to the full text.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Request the Article through Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article or book that you can't access, don't pay for it! Instead, submit an Interlibrary Loan request, and you'll receive articles within a few days!

Book Interlibrary Loan Request
Can't find the article or book you're looking for at Gordon? Fill out the Interlibrary Loan request form and we'll track the article or book down for you!