Guides: ECB 311: Intermediate Microeconomics: Databases

Searching in Library Databases

A-Z Library Databases
View the A-Z list of over 100 library databases.

TIPS FOR SEARCHING IN LIBRARY DATABASES

Start the initial search process with 2-3 keywords. Review the results and pull out a handful articles that are most relevant to your topic. Scan those articles for additional keywords or terminology that you might use to expand your search. Examples of keywords might include: electric OR hybrid AND market AND united states.
Sort your search results by Date Newest so the most current information on a subject is at the top of your results.
Use the "Cited by" or "Cited References" features contained in many library databases to view a list of resources that have cited the particular article currently being viewed in their own work or are contained within the Reference list of the current article being viewed.
Do not limit your search to just one database. Instead look at a variety of databases both subject specific and interdisciplinary to make sure you are viewing the full scope of literature published on your topic.

FINDING PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES
Many of our databases make the process of locating peer-reviewed information very easy for us by providing a "Peer-Reviewed" checkbox limiter on the search screen. Look for that checkbox when you're searching in library databases!

Peer-Reviewed Sources
Use this information sheet for criteria to look for in a peer-reviewed article.

What Databases Should I Use?

BEST BET DATABASES
Start with these library databases for Market Research and Economic Research.

Statista This link opens in a new window
To search Statista with Gordon's subscription, make sure you enter the Statista page through the link on this page, or through the Jenks Library website. If you go directly to Statista.com, you will find a lot of information blocked.
Start the initial search process with 2-3 keywords. Review the results and pull out a handful articles that are most relevant to your topic. Scan those articles for additional keywords or terminology that you might use to expand your search. Using the example on the "Getting Started" tab we might use the following keywords: electric OR hybrid AND market AND united states.
Business Source Premier Enhanced Interface This link opens in a new window
The Enhanced Interface of BSP provides quick access to industry and company profile information as well as market research reports. You can also use the search boxes on the search page to find peer-reviewed information published in business journals and publications covering marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
The NBER working paper series includes over 1000 papers each year, authored by leading research economists, on a wide variety of topics. These papers are circulated prior to publication for comment and discussion. Includes more than 24,000 papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

OTHER HELPFUL DATABASES

OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Business provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Provides access to 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications.
Formerly called both General Business File ASAP and Business Collection
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of core scholarly journals, many going back to the first volume. Emphasis is on back issue coverage and does not include the current 3-5 years, unless Gordon has a current subscription to the journal. JSTOR provides long term preservation for journals.